Postmodern dictatorship in Russia? Peter Pomerantsev says “Nothing is True and Everything is Possible”


A lot of my regular readers (and I have four regular readers, so I mean “three out of four”) are going to hate this,
but frankly I have to go through this guy’s lecture because I have to debate about it in a few hours. And by “have to” I mean, “don’t really have to, but probably will anyway.”

So I’m posting something you are likely to hate.

Feel free to salt up my comments section.

Unless you’re a spammer, in which case, your advert for fake LV bags will be deleted before it sees the light of day.

Update:

Pomerantsev’s writings are long on personal emotions and short on verfiable or falsifiable claims. E.g.:

‘Oh my God’, she wrote, ‘fascists have taken over Kiev!’

This was new. My cousin never mentions politics. Like me, she is from a Russian-speaking Jewish family who left the Ukrainian SSR in the late 1970s, but I’ve never known her give a thought to the old country until now. I told her she was misinformed. A few days later she wrote again, this time about attacks on synagogues in Ukraine. I told her local rabbis denied it.

http://www.lrb.co.uk/v36/n12/peter-pomerantsev/diary

This entry was posted in political economy. Bookmark the permalink.